Admark’s Weblog

Femininity and PINK

Posted on: May 11, 2008

I must begin this post with a big L.O.L (actually laugh out loud). Why?

Answer these questions –

  1. “Feminity means pink, but why?”
  2. Why should marketers, especially in India, show women in advertisements of products like Geysers?

I do not fathom the connection and neither does my education enable me to understand the relationship.

So if I were a woman, imagine, and I want a flash drive, then –

  1. Marketer targets its products at me, by painting them “PINK” and suggesting it overtly.
  2. Don’t I know when I look for a pen-drive the essential benefits are functional I look only for “size” and “capacity” even though “I am a woman”?

“The SanDisk Cruzer Fleur is a sleek, feminine, cap-less USB Flash Drive designed specially for women of all ages.”

Truck load of inanity. Notice that the product is named FLEUR which means a flower. “Designed specially for women of all ages” – this is all beyond me. “Sleek, feminine” – Sleek is okay but feminine pen-drive.

I pray to lord “why, why?” Are they trying to show their marketing department is gender sensitive?

Boom-Baah-Bust. Meanwhile, amen !!!

-Egghead

2 Responses to "Femininity and PINK"

[…] Noticed this new marketing blog: admark’s weblog. It seems to be a group blog, started by ‘10 to-be-marketing managers’, and the few posts I glanced through have a racy, interesting style- a refreshing change from the academic blandness of other such blogs. For instance, wouldn’t you like a marketing blog that asks such no-nonsense questions: […]

Its a pretty interesting topic to start with. On the outset i do agree that the pink tone has been overdone with everything thats pink getting feminine associations and vice versa. But there is a bit of logic behind it too. Though not flaunted equally, blue is a colour which attracts men more than women and marketers have made use of it abundantly. While most women have a natural affinity towards the colour, there are many who conform to the norm that “pink and women go together” and marketers are making good use of it! Lastly, taking your point, in a market where functional benifits are almost similar, attributes like colour and connotations could make “the” difference.

Leave a Reply

